It's not always peaches and cream...wait scratch that, we don't have that in Hello-Kitty Land.
It's not always mochi and ice cream in Japan. I have bad days and weeks, but the good outweighs that most of the time. This week was one that has tested my strength. I am going through the motions these days for leaving this fair country and returning home. Officially I leave July 28th, arriving the same day in Atlanta, GA, USA. After my long week I can think of nothing better than saying sayonara to Japan and a big HEY Y'ALL to the US. What happened?
1. My school is choosing to quit using foreign English teachers from my company, JET. Instead they are going with another private company due to budget constraints. I'm not happy about this for a variety of reasons but I have accepted it understanding Japan is in a recession. Then Monday morning I walk into my school which is 3 years old to discover that every TV (about 25) and the mounting is was held into which is hanging from the ceiling, had been replaced. These TVs are average to slightly large, and new. What did we have instead. Brand new flat panel, HD, LARGE fancy TVs that have all kinds of plugs and even could get Internet if classrooms were equipped for such a thing. Where are they? Sitting on top of the bookshelves. Yeah....my jaw hit the ground and that set the tone for my week.
2. I have a new Japanese Teacher of English (JTE) who is fresh out of college. I have been patient since she arrived at the start of the school year this past April. Her tone of speaking is rather abrupt and rude. Since English is her 2nd language I have been forgiving and try to be a good example of proper speech patterns. She is a GOOD English speaker just her style sucks. Yeah well officially she is no longer someone I like. Turns out she is just rude and inconsiderate.
3. My passport expires in 2 weeks. I had to go to the post office to get a money order in US dollars in order to buy a new one. This is not an easy process anywhere, Japan is notorious for paperwork and the ridiculousness of it all. There is a paper and at least 3 people to go through to get ANYTHING done. I arrive with my fancy Japanese words all prepared, gestures practiced and a BIG smile on my face. 1.5 hours later, a call to the embassy, 5 forms re-filled out because of some mistake or another, fresh tears on my face, 2 calls to a translator, and one bitching out in Japanese care of me...I walked away with my money order. It wasn't pretty. In true Japanese form they offered me a box of tissues as a gift for making me wait.
4. As incentive in my school I do not give stickers or prizes but instead E-Bucks, my own currency. I buy small things that I value from 1-5 EBs and students get to go shopping after school for their own rewards. It is a great system! Over the last 2 years I have spent 300$ on this. Not much, I make a tidy sum here, but I was under the impression that I would be reimbursed for these items, or at least the bulk of them. I also have spent 70$ on supplies for classes that were pre-approved. I got my money back this week, all 100$ and was told that is all they could afford. I looked at the new TV that no one could reach, mumbled some words of hate under my breath and left school early.
How do I bounce back from this? I call an old friend, hop in my car and head to the lake for the weekend. With any luck by Tuesday ( I have Monday off) I'll be back to my happy place.